Salal

Yesterday on a hike we came across an unknown berry. Kevin first identified them as Huckleberries but a quick Google search had me scratching my head. They didn’t look like any of the pictures of huckleberries. So I started searching and searching. I really wanted these berries to be edible (since we’d already eaten a few & we are getting low on fruit) so I found a website (internet-world is an amazing place!) called Northern Bushcraft and a list of edible berries of the PNW. There I discovered our berry to be a Salal. It is quite edible with lots of really great benefits. This morning we enjoyed Salal berry muffins for breakfast thanks to an internet recipe!

 

One thought on “Salal

Leave a Reply

