Keeping the number one rule

My number one rule of sailing is: “Keep the water out!”

sunken boat
So this doesn’t happen

There’s a lot of details that go into following that rule, and we may discuss them all at some point, but being away from our floating home for weeks and months make it a little more difficult because we are not there every day to see and monitor what is happening. Wings of the Morning is our home, so keeping the #1 rule in force is even more important.

When we bought the boat there was maybe a half inch of water in the bilge. Not a big deal at all. As a matter of fact, the previous owner didn’t leave the power on to the bilge pump because he didn’t want to accidentally pump any stray oil or fuel into the water, so the little bit that was there was an accumulation from quite a while.

Cool!

Looking over the boat, I could see that all the hoses that lead to through hull valves were brand new, and the valves were left closed in any case. Cool again. The engine was brand new and the packing gland had been replaced at the same time, so the situation was as good as it could be. It seemed everything that could be done had been done and it was a big relief for me.

But being away for six weeks or more is a long time to just “hope” that every thing is OK.

I wanted to find something which would notify me of high water in the bilge. I first went looking for something simple like an app to send me a text msg, but of course there has to be some sort of sensor to generate the text msg, so this presented a difficulty. An internet search brought up a really nice option that monitored everything from power to high temperature, but it was very expensive, and required a $180.00 a year monitoring service. Worth it, yes, but the cost made me look further.

Once I dropped the words “marine, and bilge” from my searches I found “Pump Alarm“. The cost was $199.00 plus shipping, and an annual monitoring fee of $30.00. That’s more like it.

(Note: I am not selling these, just passing on the info, but so far it is doing exactly what I want it to do.)

They are designed for home use with basement sump pumps, but when I called them, the only caution they had for use in boats is possible sloshing of water in the bilge causing an alarm due to excessive movement of the boat. Personally, I want to know if my boat has that sort of movement while sitting at the dock, so I don’t consider that a drawback. I can simply disable it when I go sailing.

I won’t go into a detailed explanation of how it works, if you are interested, I recommend you do your own research. The photos below show how I set mine up. This is a temporary set up until I jump into rewiring the boat and make it all more permanent.

IMG_2520
Everything necessary for installation, including wire ties.

IMG_2528
Control box.

IMG_2530
Plugs into AC power but Tech Support tells me it can go straight to 12v. Will do this when I rewire the boat. (So get off my back about the non ABYC wiring here!)

IMG_2533
I used a piece of scrap trim to mount the 2 sensors on.

IMG_2535
Mounted the electronic (no moving parts to fail) sensor about 6″ below the floor boards. This leaves a lot of room for error, leaving no doubt that when the alarm triggers, there is a problem. If the alarm triggers, I can call the marina security to go check it out and we can deal with whatever is causing the problem.

The sensor above is a float switch as a “back-up” sensor.

IMG_2034
This unit will notify my cell phone of a loss of power, and a high water event. I tested it by turning off Shore Power, and the turning it back on.

Success!

Now, as we drive all over the country, we can rest assured that we will be notified of a catastrophic flooding event, or a loss of power. The idea is to get someone there to look at it before I get a phone call that my home is sitting on the bottom.

3 thoughts on “Keeping the number one rule

  1. Very clever!

    I might suggest you add an additional sensor if the unit permits. The second sensor can be placed a few inches above the sensor you have installed. This would give you a critical situation alarm should you get a notification that the first sensor has gone off then followed by a second sensor alarm, say, a couple of hours later. If you get a first sensor alarm and no second sensor then you know the problem is not too critical.

    All the best,

    Mark

    Mark and Cindy
    s/v Cream Puff

    Like

  2. Thanks for the post! We appreciate the mentions and kind notes about our product. Also, we shared your post on our social networks, hopefully it helps get you a few new subscribers! Keep up the great work, If you ever need anything please let us know!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

